Thread poster: anastasiawhite
anastasiawhite
anastasiawhite  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 15:42
English to Russian
+ ...
Sep 21, 2018

I am a new freelance translator and I'm not sure if this is a scam.
I got an email from Kevin Deaton, [email protected], that said the following:
Hello and how are you doing today? I would like to know if you will be able to translate a document from English to Russian which I'm to use for a presentation in a month.
Thanks

And then I got a pdf called "Concept of Capitalism" and it was the second chapter of
... See more
I am a new freelance translator and I'm not sure if this is a scam.
I got an email from Kevin Deaton, [email protected], that said the following:
Hello and how are you doing today? I would like to know if you will be able to translate a document from English to Russian which I'm to use for a presentation in a month.
Thanks

And then I got a pdf called "Concept of Capitalism" and it was the second chapter of a book. I asked him for his business address, phone number and website, but he didn't provide any. This seems fishy.
Collapse

Yolanda Broad
Touchstone_Tran
Walter Landesman
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Vadim Kadyrov

Touchstone_Tran
Touchstone_Tran
United States
Local time: 18:42
English to French
+ ...
Yes, definitely a scam Sep 21, 2018

I received a very similar request and if you check on the forums here, there is a whole thread about this guy. He goes by different names, but it's always the same scam. Large document that needs translation for a presentation in 6 weeks. Refuses to give the name of the company he represents, a phone number or any business details. Offers partial payment up front and refuses to pay with PayPal, only wants your bank details.

Delete and block.

Macarena Corte

jyuan_us
jyuan_us  Identity Verified
United States
Member (2005)
English to Chinese
+ ...
Yes, it is. Sep 21, 2018